>  Academic regulations  >  3. Basics of studies

3. Basics of studies

3.1 Studies are based on a curriculum which specifies the study objectives, learning outcomes, structure of studies, list of subjects and modules with the volume of studies in credits, study options and conditions, requirements for enrolment and graduation, the main language of instruction and other languages of instruction necessary for achievement of the learning outcomes and the nominal study period.
3.2 The Statute of Curricula establishes the requirements for the structure, content and quality of curricula and the rules for the opening, administration and closure of curricula. Curricula are worked out and developed and the submission of proposals for supplementing them are organised by the respective Study Level Council whose members are appointed by the EBS Rector on the recommendation of the Head of the Study Level. The EBS Research and Development Committee performs the tasks of the Doctoral Studies Council. Curricula and its amendments are approved by the Board of SA Estonian Business School on the proposal of the EBS Senate. The Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs has the right to make alterations to the curriculum for the period of one year. Curricula are entered into the SIS and the Estonian Education Information System EHIS. Curricula must correspond to the Estonian Higher Education Standard.
3.3 The course outline is an informative document that provides a short description of the subject or module and is stored in the SIS. The course outline includes the official title of the subject, the code, the volume, the objective, a short description of the main sub-topics of the subject, learning outcomes and a list of pre-requisite courses. The course outline is compiled at the corresponding academic unit and is confirmed by the Head of that unit. The course outline forms the basis for entering the corresponding subject into the SIS.
3.4 The syllabus is compiled on the basis of the course outline. The syllabus is a description of a particular subject which includes the official title, code and volume of the subject and the prerequisite courses (i.e. the subjects required to study a certain subject), learning outcomes, the time schedules for face-to-face work and the list of topics to be covered, the time schedules and description of topics of independent assignments, the assessment methods and criteria and their alignment with learning outcomes, and the list of basic study literature. The syllabus is compiled by the lecturer teaching a certain subject and confirmed by the Head of the corresponding academic unit or by the leading faculty member appointed by the Head of the unit. Syllabi are stored in the SIS. The syllabi of autumn semester courses are confirmed by 15 June and the syllabi of spring semester courses by 15 December. The syllabus will be transferred to the e-learning platform Canvas two weeks before the start of the semester at the latest.
3.5 Subjects are divided into compulsory, elective and optional subjects. A compulsory subject is a subject that must be completed successfully in order to graduate from EBS. An elective subject is a subject that is chosen freely from a block of subjects and in the volume specified in the curriculum. An optional subject is a subject that is selected by the student from any curriculum of EBS or accredited curricula of other universities and is not listed among the compulsory and elective subjects in the student’s curriculum. In order to choose an optional subject, the student must have passed its prerequisite subjects. Learners may choose elective and optional subjects according to the volume and requirements established in the corresponding curriculum.
3.6 The volume of a subject is expressed in terms of the European Credit Point System (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System ECTS). The unit of study volume is a credit (ECTS). One ECTS credit corresponds to 26 hours spent studying – 1560 astronomical hours and 60 credits per year.
3.7 The time-frame of organisation of studies is established by the academic calendar, which determines the start and end dates of the study year and important study-related deadlines. The Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs approves the academic calendar for the coming academic year by the end of March.
3.8 Studies are divided into two semesters (autumn and spring semester), which generally last for 16-19 study weeks. Semesters end with the main examination session that lasts up to three weeks, followed by a resit session that lasts for at least two weeks.
3.9 There are no studies during the Christmas and summer breaks.
3.10 Internship generally takes place between two academic years.
3.11 In order to guarantee the quality of studies, students are regularly asked to give feedback by filling in questionnaires.